Regarding Coffee and Panic Attacks

16 Sep
Dear Blog,


  I seriously don’t know why I’m wasting my time writing this. I really don’t. I could be doing something far more productive, for example doing my ICT homework (or rather, finding out what it is), and—-SLEEPING.  No seriously, I’ve been sleeping in the early mornings so far. In the early A.Ms. Which is, in the long term, NOT funny.
  What’s even less funny is that the coffee doesn’t seem to help in the right way. 
  So I looked it up on the Net……

  ANXIETY ATTACK. Wtf? On top of not enough sleep, coffee gives me weird attacks. What’s a student to do!?
 
"Summary

A panic attack, also called an anxiety attack, is a brief episode of intense anxiety that causes the physical sensations of fear. These can include a racing heartbeat, shortness of breath, dizziness, trembling and muscle tension. Spontaneous panic attacks occur unexpectedly and are not related to any external threat.

Causes 
Some symptoms that are common to panic attacks may also occur in some physical conditions. Some medications and drugs – such as tranquillisers, alcohol and caffeine – may also induce panic-like symptoms.

Excessive caffeine intake – the caffeine in coffee, tea and other beverages is a strong stimulant.

Symptoms
Symptoms of a panic attack can include:

  • Heightened vigilance for danger and physical symptoms
  • Anxious and irrational thinking
  • A strong feeling of dread, danger or foreboding
  • Tingling and chills, particularly in the arms and hands
  • Trembling or shaking, sweating
  • Hot flushes
  • Accelerated heart rate
  • A feeling of constriction in the chest
  • Breathing difficulties, including shortness of breath
  • Nausea or abdominal distress  
Among many others.
  I guess this is the end of the puzzle. At least I’m not going crazy or something, which is vaguely comforting.
  Very, very vaguely.
  Something tells me that having these symptoms occur almost constantly is not healthy.
  Something tells me that it’s not only coffee.
  Something tells me that the ‘something’ is actually Nothing.

Oh well. It’s not my fault coffee is so good. 
Maybe I should try decaf instead.

Aim

Leave a Reply

