Ideas for a (your?) Summer Holiday

7 Jul

Chances are, if you’re reading this, you know me personally (I probably forced you into reading this). Most people I know personally are students…so, upon reading that lists are another nice way to blog, I decided to do another list–this time neither random nor rant-filled. I promise. For those who just came across this, I’m not as bad as I sound…

It’s July! The Summer Holidays Of  (*insert adjective here*) are here at last. And even if you’re not a student loitering around your residential area (or anywhere else, for that matter), hopefully this list can apply too… I’m trying to be objective and not rely on only my own interests here, so no, this list is not going to look like:

  1. Read a book
  2. Read another 
  3. And another
  4. Repeat steps 1-3

 (Although this is a prrrrretty good to-do list, in my opinion.)

Here goes:

  1. Enroll in a class that you’re interested in. It could be anything, from a new skill to something you’ve enjoyed doing in the past. Either way, it keeps you from staying home all day–and you’ll get something out of  the time in the end, too.
  2. Pick up a sport. Yes, stop laughing. I said “do a sport”. And yes, I’m going to do that. This could be done in the form of #1, or you could find a group of similarly-interested friends. By ‘sports’, I mean physical sports. Not chess…and yes, I know it’s a recognized sport. I’ve used that excuse many times myself.
  3. Do something new. Anything. Maybe you want to cook. Or weave a basket. Or stick your head in your toilet. It’s all fine (as long as you’re not breaking the law).
  4. Read a book. You totally saw this coming. Personally I think that the feeling of having finished another book is incomparable. Much, much better than surfing aimlessly on the Internet.
  5. Read/Draw a comic. For those who don’t mix well with books, comics may seem such a more welcome alternative. It could be either printed or a webcomic. Maybe you could draw your own.
  6. Plan a budget. Write down how much you intend to spend in the holidays, and possible things you’d spend it on. This is damage control!
  7. Go shopping. Need I explain more? Do this with #5 in mind, though.
  8. Write a blog. That’s what I’m doing now, as my #3. Or maybe you could write a journal. Make a website. Anyway, keeping a record of what’s happening allows you to look reflectively at your holiday. If your daily activities have been “loiter” and “sit around”, you probably want to get off your ass for a change.
  9. Find a job! This may prove difficult in China, but it has been done. So long as you actually want to do it. Also: don’t really expect lots of pay.
  10. Discover new places. A new cafe in the area, a park on the other side of the city…hell, another town in the suburbs. Visit places you’ve never been to before.
  11. Make a timetable. Not too detailed, though. You want, at least, an illusion of sticking to it.
  12. Take photos. Of yourself, maybe, or anything else. Maybe take up photography. Either way, it could be a fairly simple and bother-free way to record your summer.
So yeah, there’s my list of ideas for the summer. I’ll try and follow my own advice…
Any more ideas? Experiences?
7 Responses to “Ideas for a (your?) Summer Holiday”

  1. Violet July 8, 2011 at 12:14 am #

    Basicly what I do now is ‘sit around’, ‘reading books’ and possibly ‘trying to get myself accustomed to Chinese Section of School’. Which basicly means a whole summer in the house. *Laughs Crazily*

    • AwesomeAim July 8, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

      Wow. What do you mean by “Chinese Section Of School”? o_O Anyway, sounds…fun… xD

      • Violet July 9, 2011 at 1:07 am #

        I’m supposed to transfer to this Chinese Section of SHSID and prepare for that GaoKao test for the Taiwanese, Hong Kong, and Makao people. And I can tell you thats not going to be fun……I seriously envy you to get to work or something (……). I know that work is not fun though.

  2. thetamster July 9, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    You know, I’ve got numbers 1,2,4 and 5 down. Go me!
    Also: you might want to consider watching TV, namely Superman: The Animated Series, which is awesome. It’s deftly written and nicely animated, so if you ever wanted to see Superman punching out Metallo, this is your show. Even my little brother loves it.
    …that wasn’t actually a compliment. Um.
    Anyway, Superman is awesome, Lois Lane is awesomely snarky, and the animation is nicely done, so…

    • AwesomeAim July 9, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

      Totally. I’m also going to try and find Daria, because apparently that’s good. Anyway, how’d you find this? Facebook?!
      Naturally, you would watch something that your little brother recommends. No surprise. xD

      • tamuelvimes July 12, 2011 at 11:11 am #

        Dude… I recommended it to him.
        Also you sent me the link. Pfft, you’re getting senile, Bu.

      • AwesomeAim July 12, 2011 at 11:17 am #

        I could’ve just “disapproved” of your comment, Mr. Tam Vimes.
        Nice new name. You were the Tamster only a few days ago. Three.

Leave a Reply

