Love. Or rather, “love”.

12 Jul

Says Wikipedia:

Love is an emotion of strong affection and personal attachment.[1] In philosophical context, love is a virtue representing all of human kindnesscompassion, and affection.

And love is a strong word. If I hear one more person misuse it once more, I’m not sure what my reaction would be (I’m guessing not so great). Sure, you can declare your affection for your mom, your satisfaction with that recent movie, and do lots of exciting other things with these four letters too, but really, please stop describing your feelings as “love” when talking about people you occasionally date, feel attracted to, or–hopefully this doesn’t happen much–sleep with.

People don’t immediately develop long-lasting, stable feelings of affection or attachment to a person they enter a relationship with right away. Bam. (That feeling that can be so easily confused with love is called lust). Instead, I’m going to stick to my opinion that teenagers nowadays are simply using the word “love” in a bad attempt at sounding mature and commanding attention. I remember reading articles where teens gave each other “love” advice, and there was a certain one that caught my attention where the young writer talked about his first experiences in “handling matters of love” over the past year.

Excuse me while I accidentally wet myself laughing (no, I don’t do that in real life). It doesn’t count as love when you go through four girlfriends in a year. What I’ve seen is couples declaring their love for one another on their first day together, loudly professing how the other person must be their soulmate, then breaking up and moving on to the next “soulmate”. Woah. True love, yeah? It hardly even counts as a proper relationship.

I don’t know how long it’ll take for my peers to recognize the difference between excitement, happiness, infatuation, having a crush, enjoying the company of a person and–*gasp* love, because I’m seeing more of the infatuation, excitement of being in a relationship and mutual liking towards one another than genuine caring and affection in today’s young lovers. Love isn’t a feeling that is automatically generated once you acquire a significant other. It isn’t a word that will throw you into the “responsible, mature” category once you start using it in your everyday language regardless of context–the effects are on the contrary.

The gory details of what I think love should be is something that I will leave to your imagination. This topic is all too sentimental for me; I think I’m going to throw up soon. Please, please do not mention the L-word in front of me again within this week. (Why did I bring this upon myself? Must be because my tolerance for this atrocity is drawing to an end).

So. When you next open your mouth to shout, “I’m falling in love!”, “This must be love!”, shut it back up and think.

Frankly, if you’d exclaimed “I’m helplessly infatuated!” instead, it would’ve earned you a lot more respect from me.

6 Responses to “Love. Or rather, “love”.”

  1. tamuelvimes July 13, 2011 at 7:45 am #

    Actually, the usage of ‘love’ here is most likely figurative, such as in ‘I love chocolate’ or ‘I love America’. If you can say ‘I love Lady Gaga’, you can say ‘I love my boyfriend’ in the same manner. It’s probably more to do with colloquial language than a mistaking of the reality for actual love.

    • AwesomeAim July 13, 2011 at 9:17 am #

      Many people don’t REALIZE if they mean it figuratively or not. It would be cool if people always knew what they are saying. Most couples I know of are *planning* to get married in the future…and anyway there //should// be //some// difference in “I love cheesecake” and “I love my boyfriend”…?

  2. rinftw July 14, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    Totally agreed. There is a huge difference between loving to watch Buffy the Vampire reruns and loving a significant person.

    I guess everyone’s definition of love is different, but to me, love also demands respect, acceptance, and trust. It’s not all about sentimentality. And I also have this notion that love should be quiet. I’m so sick of Facebook statuses of shit like “I’m in love with my baby” or stuff. It sickens me that people objectify love like it’s some valuable asset so they can flaunt it for lonely singles and whatnot.

    But that’s just my opinion. Meh. I really like your blog, btw! (:

    • AwesomeAim July 14, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

      Exactly. Not to mention that the media distorts and twists the matter like crazy. From careful observation I conclude that those who are superfluously loudspoken about their relationships actually manage to last shorter than the quieter ones. Ironic much?
      Anyway, thank you! ^^

  3. goodbyereality411 July 14, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    I think it’s a language/culture thing. In some languages/cultures the word love is not used as often.

    • AwesomeAim July 14, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

      That’s true, too. However, I think people should become more aware of their usage of the word when they do. I’m sure every culture has their own way of expressing it…!

Leave a Reply

