Work: the Last Day of

25 Jul

After countless harrowing days, a business trip and a bout of impromptu sickness, my internship finally draws to an end. I don’t mean to sound as relieved as I do, but the prospect of being able to get up whenever I want to–at last!–and having the option to laze around at home sounds immensely promising to me. No more rush-hour traffic. No more emails from the boss. Goodbye corporate drudgery and hello to long hours in cafes. Yes!

Regardless, I think this work experience was definitely worth the time and effort. Lots of things learnt on my part…and now I’m going to list them here. Perhaps this will save you from a brutal wake-up from your Utopian office dream in the future; I don’t know. Hope so. Anyway, to sort out my thoughts (and share them with you), and break the news gently…

  1.  Halfway into the first week I realized that school really was better than work. What my parents and teachers have been trying to tell me is actually true. School is infinitely more relaxed and it has a much happier atmosphere. (Unless, of course, you work at Google.) Teachers are way better people to be confronting than bosses and managers.
  2. Friends are scarce in the workplace. Once again, this backs up my “school is better than work” theory. You have friends in school, even if said friends are jealous and bitchy and fight a lot. You can talk with them freely and make crude, dirty jokes. Nobody cares. You don’t have to worry about sending them gifts or sucking up to them just because they’re in a higher grade. At least, not really. You don’t have to worry about them badmouthing you to your boss or cutting down on your salary or giving you impossibly difficult tasks to do. Neither do I have to, but it’s apparent that the assistants suck up to the managers. Ugh.
  3. Your boss doesn’t care how you do your job or how difficult it is for you. Unlike your teachers, you can’t go running to Mr. Boss every time you encounter a problem. If the boss says “put the elephant into a refrigerator”, it’s your job to locate the elephant, and truck it around. It’s also your job to get someone to make/buy a fridge big enough to fit an elephant inside. If you ask your boss, he’s just going to tell you to find someone and give you a contact number at most. Sigh.
  4. If you don’t plan your time, then you’re not going to get everything done. Anything, even. You might not, even with a fully functional schedule. Bosses have a habit of popping up at the least convenient time and assigning a new task to you. So…work avalanche. Not pretty (not very relaxing either).
  5. Bugging people pays off, and it’s worth the annoying looks they give you. Being nice and giving them time may very well mean never getting them to do it. The tasks that my boss gave me that he didn’t bug me about are still lying there. I’m never going to get around to doing them…last day, remember? Do whatever it takes to get the people to do it. They’re going to do whatever it takes for them to not do it. Damn.
  6. If you can pull it off without sounding overly insolent or rude, negotiate. I didn’t know you could do that until I heard another manager do it. The boss sat down with her and they negotiated about whether or not they should have a meeting on Monday. She even told him that she had too much on her hands and that if she did this extra task he was trying to set her, she would have less time to complete that other, more urgent job. Thatwas an eye-opener. Lesson learnt! …But it may have something to do with the fact that she’s a senior worker, I guess.

That’s my internship in a nutshell. We just had lunch outside (boss’s treat!) and are back in the office again. So…all in all, I’d say that my time was well spent, and that I learned more than I had hoped to. It was different, in a way, from my expectations. Apart from all the social skills, my translating skills–and tecchy skills–were also put to the test, via Translating A Website And 10,000 Other Documents. But it’s a good thing. I can now create and upload websites. Yay?

And last but not least, a thank you to all the people at my company who have been friendly and nice and supportive. I’ll miss you…and maybe, just maybe, we’ll meet again next year.

Another two hours, and then I’m going to settle into full Relaxation Mode.

Edit: I think I forgot to mention that they said that I was welcome to work there next year, too–which explains the “we’ll meet again” part, I think. Also also–did I forget to say that I’m tutoring kids on the piano? With income! Hell yeah!

2 Responses to “Work: the Last Day of”

  1. Kaitlin Ring August 5, 2011 at 12:24 am #

    Your internship sounds useful! My internships have been kind of useful, but more like, “Hi, you’re our new workhorse. Allow us to exploit you and take advantage of you for little to no pay.” But I guess it all pays off eventually. Or, that’s what they tell me at least. Did you like your job there, or was it generally unpleasant?

    • AwesomeAim August 5, 2011 at 10:49 am #

      I suppose I would be rather ungrateful if I said it was unpleasant. The people were really nice, and on the last day we were all treated to lunch. Other than that though I had lots of translations and website-making on my hands, although I don’t suppose I was any worse off than anyone else. So maybe the most important lesson learned was that there isn’t such a thing as a “relaxing job”!

Leave a Reply

