There’s nothing wrong with dyed hair and piercings and whatnot.

6 Aug

As it turns out, I’m not allowed to dye my hair–yet. Why not? It’s mainly because it’s going to “affect my reputation at school”, meaning that I’ll probably stop appearing on stage at school events, representing the school when the media arrives, and generally stop being the “good student”. That, my friends, pisses me off badly. And if I didn’t need all those things to get into a good university, I would just throw up my hands and declare “fuck this shit, I’m doing it anyway”. Reality, however, means that I’ll have to contend with writing this agitated blog post.

Now look at the picture. Does it say “Not dye your hair”? Does it say “Be positive”? Does it say “No body art”? IT DOESN’T.

I’m sick of people who get all surprised when I’m not their mental picture of a “good student”. I’m not mild, not particularly nice, nowhere near positive, swear a lot and am also considered aggressive. I don’t keep my hair in a ponytail and I certainly don’t recite poetry. I DO, however, occasionally give people the one-finger salute, swear more than I should, wear three hugeass rings, believe that we’re going to drown within 30 years, and want a motorbike. As if all that somehow affects what kind of student I am. I have my opinions, likes and dislikes and I’m not afraid to show it.

Just in case you’re still confused: THE ONLY THING MY LIKES AND DISLIKES REFLECT are my likes and dislikes.

Not: Whether or not I am a good student/Whether or not I should seek help/Whether or not I am competent.

“Normal” is overrated. Being “abnormal” doesn’t mean that you have issues, have low intelligence, are a danger to society or need help. You can’t judge a person by the way they look. I could get a zipper tattooed down my face and still have afternoon tea with my pinky finger sticking up. I could get a punk haircut and still enjoy classical music. You wouldn’t know! There is no reason for me to stop getting good grades or completing my homework simply because I punch holes in my ears.

Hair Color Ideas-3A person should be accepted for who they are–and that means everything that comes with them in a package. Should someone be judged by their race? No. Their gender? No. Sexual orientation? No (probably yes, in Chinese schools/society). Hair color? …Apparently. Relationship status? …More often than not, yes–at least, to the Chinese. Schools are fighting a futile battle when they try and discourage potential “model” students and “good” students from expressing themselves. Do they honestly believe that the student body would buy into the “model” student image that they set up as an example? Even if said student did co-operate with the school and refrained from displaying “unacceptable” behavior in front of his/her teachers, his/her peers know who he/she really is from day-to-day interaction. The more artificial the image of the “model” student is, the less impressed the others will be.

How healthy is being the stereotypical “good” student, anyway? And what exactly is a good student? There have been otherwise normal and socially acceptable students who have gone on shooting, killing frenzies. The ideal students that schools are trying so hard to create come at the cost of their personality and freedom of expression. Adolescents are coerced and pressured into submission, often costing them their mental health. Individuals ought to have their own views and preferences, and schools and society would do well to respect that. Repressing them does not make the individuals any “better”. In fact, I find those students who listen to every word and follow every rule without exception rather saddening–empty-minded robots with either no opinion to express or no backbone to voice it.

In essence, all I’m trying to say is that personality, competence and all that whatnot come in a package. I wish I could turn around, face the Headmaster of my school and tell him to take it or leave it. If the school really appreciated me for who I am, they wouldn’t change their opinion of me if I came to school with purple highlights, a tattoo, piercings or a boyfriend. But that’s just the way the world is, frowning upon these things, and I’m just another high-schooler who’s too young to be heard and too unimportant to be taken into consideration. So what if this post borders on angsty and incoherent? I’m pissed off and I want to show it.

Because that’s just how I roll.

4 Responses to “There’s nothing wrong with dyed hair and piercings and whatnot.”

  1. Brittany August 6, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    Are you me?

  2. Kay August 6, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    I’ve encountered the same problem! My teachers/peers in High School all seemed to think I was unintelligent until proven otherwise because messing around with my hair and clothes is a hobby of mine.

    It’s a little late for this suggestion now, assuming your breaks there follow the same schedule as our’s in the US, but perhaps you could dye your hair over the summer or over another break? Doesn’t achieve the whole, “fucking shit up / challenging standards” goal, but it does achieve the “having hair of an unusual color” goal.

    • AwesomeAim August 6, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

      True that! I’m still pushing my parents to allow purple/dark red, but I am definitely getting holes punched in my ears over the winter holidays. For me, I’d feel as if I hadn’t done anything at all with the dyeing and piercings if they were similar to everyone else’s. The whole point is to be visually…shocking, I guess. Your suggestion is awesome; I shall push harder (sounds wrong doesn’t it?).

Leave a Reply

