Awesometastic! –Songs on my mind

8 Aug

I’m just a generous and sharing person by nature (everyone: pffffft), so here are some songs that I just can’t keep to myself. I’ll try and explain how, why they’re awesome and why the hell I like them so much, but these are just my opinions and I can’t even promise that I’ll do such a great job on them. So here I go, trying to prove that I haven’t been learning music for the best part of my life for nothing…

In no particular order:

1.  Kiss From A Rose, by Seal: 

A waltz in 3/4 time, the soothing vocals and swaying beat gives the song a certain feeling of spaciousness. The colorful harmonies and multiple melodies–similar to part-writing–gives this song a fantasy-esque atmosphere, only reinforced by the lyrics and the singer’s expressive voice. To me the best part is the jazz-like melody, with its occasional rebato and 3-versus-4 timing. The drums only become prominent to push the music to a new height (climax? Get your thoughts out of the gutter.), and not overused. Conclusion: The swaying beat is awesome, and the voice/melody is also awesome. PLUS it was included in the Batman Forever movie. Batman, woohoo!

2. El Tango de Roxanne, in Moulin Rogue:

Have I ever told you how much I love how an orchestra can really create that awesome heroic feeling? It’s like a…a really big wave on an ocean, I guess, and you can hear how it’s gathering power and rushing at you. Well, this song is FULL of these moments, and I never realized how well violins could create the effect of tension. The song is performed mainly by instruments of the string family, with vocals serving as more of an accompaniment (damn, the voice is awesome). Once again, the harmony and different overlapping parts in this song combined with relatively sudden entrances and stops give it the clearly tango-y feeling. The only bit I didn’t really enjoy was the end, where I felt the drums were out of place with the rest of the song.

3. Marching Bands of Manhattan, by Death Cab For Cutie:

Quiet and sad–my all-time favorite. I’m not going to say anything about this one because I’ve a feeling that if I analyze it, it won’t be half as enjoyable anymore. So just listen to it.

Y’know…maybe I should just stick to playing music instead of trying to analyze it. This is what I have learned today.

2 Responses to “Awesometastic! –Songs on my mind”

  1. tenbrokenbullets September 3, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    I also think that orchestra creates a heroic feeling.. I LOVE IT.
    My favorite game is Kingdom Hearts, and I love the music they put in that game.

    Anyways.

    I’ve never seen Moulin Rouge, but I’m happy somebody else likes Death Cab for Cutie as much as I do. 😉

    • AwesomeAim September 3, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

      Neither have I…it’s still on my To-Do list. And since you brought up the topic…my favourite game-webcomic is Homestuck, and the music is also really really epic.

Leave a Reply

