Flyers, project failures, and anal-retentiveness.

9 Aug

So (do I begin sentences with “so” too much?!) there I was, looking through all the shit that was clogging up my computer’s hard drives…and what did I find? This–a flyer that I made during the last school year as part of my Duke of Edinburgh project. We tried to take matters into our own hands and get people to donate to an organization called the River Of Hearts, but despite our best efforts–consisting of two hilarious videos, many announcements and flyers pasted everywhere, nothing much came of it.

I spent around half a day on this, using no less than five fonts–none of which that are part of the system’s default fonts. I have a thing for nice downloadable fonts, and I also have a thing for formatting and color schemes and visual good-lookingness and opacity in text boxes and run-on sentences and all that whatnot. That’s how anal I can be–insisting that there’s a difference between 90% and 94% opacity and that one looks better than the other. But hey, one can never create art without a bit of anal-ness, right?

I don’t think it looks bad, actually, if you don’t mind me saying so myself. So that was an afternoon well spent, and I’m not the school magazine editor for nuthin’ after all.

2 Responses to “Flyers, project failures, and anal-retentiveness.”

  1. Brittany August 10, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

    Fonts are very important. Last year my AP Lit teacher and I did NOT see eye to eye (aka we hated each other very much and she dropped all formalities to make quips towards me). I decided to rebel by writing my papers in comic sans. She was also the yearbook teacher, so I knew she had a thing for fonts

    • AwesomeAim August 11, 2011 at 12:03 am #

      MY school decided to use some kind of illegible font (major bolds and stick-thin in places, like Cooper Black but MUCH WORSE) on parts of our Yearbook, and on messy picture-backgrounds, too. Grimace.

Leave a Reply

