This post-rain, clear-skied, somewhat angsty afternoon

12 Aug

I wish I could say that I was above all that pathetic, emotional, sentimental shit–but I’m not. Time to face the fact that I’m just another hormone-ridden teenager and that I’m not excused from having feelings, even if I’m relatively manly and all that. This isn’t really the time for me to worry if I’m posting TMI and/or too much personal shit, but tell me if I do. Mercilessly. I can imagine how annoying it is for you when I keep posting random crap nobody can relate to, so…yeah.

To give you an idea of how decidedly teenager-y I’m being at the moment, this is the song I’m listening to: Wish You Were Here, by Avril Lavigne. Normally I don’t listen much to her songs, but this is an exception. Uh, it’s probably got to do with the fact that I can sorta maybe occasionally relate to the lyrics a little.

And so I’m sitting here at this kitty-cafe at the moment where all the cats are ignoring me, listening to music playing so loudly in my ears that I can’t even really hear myself think–just the way I like it. Just the way I like to whenever I get sad-ish less awesome. Because everyone has those days, right? The awesome thing about loud music is that it flushes out all the angsty thoughts and fills the space with drums and bass guitars and screaming instead. At this precise moment, it’s keeping me from thinking about how I used to pride myself on hardly ever writing cliched teenager stuff. It’s also trying to keep away thoughts about how I’m doubting that I’ll ever have any success in my love life, but this song is just making it worse. Meh, time will tell. This bout of self-pitying will blow over, and I’ll get over whatever I need to get over, and I’ll be my usual awesome self again.

I know for a fact that neither shit blows over that easily nor do I get over things that quickly (incoherence? sorry it must be the guitars/timpani), so I’m going to help myself here a bit:

MANLINESS FTW! I AM SO AWESOME! HELL YEAH! GUNS! EXPLOSIONS! VODKA! FISTFIGHTS! BEER! BOOBS

So…yeah. Moping and complaining is uncool and decidedly un-awesome.

Examples of what IS awesome instead (Playlist!):

(All the below songs are by Superchick unless stated otherwise.)

  • Cross The Line
  • Anthem
  • One Girl Revolution
  • Semi-Charmed Life (Third Eye Blind)
  • This Is How A Heart Breaks (Rob Thomas)

Yup. See, I have the (imaginary) balls to get over my teenage angst. I remain awesome.

Me: 1, Teenage angst: NIL.

5 Responses to “This post-rain, clear-skied, somewhat angsty afternoon”

  1. Selah Aran August 12, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    Do It Like A Dude by Jessie J- you will not regret listening to this song. It takes being uber-masculine and makes it, well, feminine. And it’s got a bitchin’ music video

    • AwesomeAim August 12, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

      Now this song is stuck in my head…*DO IT LIKE A DOOODE!* 😛

  2. blame the media August 13, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    Teenager angst at it’s greatest! Happens to us all 😉

    • AwesomeAim August 13, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

      Yep. Sadly, scientists haven’t found the antidote to it yet.

      • Brittany August 14, 2011 at 3:59 am #

        It’s called growing up and dealing with it unfortunately :/

Leave a Reply

