Drawing on T-shirts, FTW.

15 Aug

I went to a T-shirt painting competition today (actually, yesterday, seeing as it’s past midnight), and despite the fact that it was filled with little kiddies (I really dislike little kids) I actually managed to enjoy myself. I was blasting my eardrums out with Pink’s songs and having a damn good time–minus the half-hour when I was practically tearing my hair out because I needed inspiration real quick.

I actually felt that I did a pretty okay job, but that was a feeling that shriveled slowly to nothing much at all as I finished the T-shirt. I was going for the watercolor-y, dreamy feeling that I saw in Kelly McKernan’s art (you should Google her, she’s awesome, I say, AWESOME), but it went awry.

The mask I still like, though. And the purple drippy bits because they look ten times more natural than the hugeass bluish ones at the bottom (which I added because I felt that the art was too far up), but the hair…okay, just see for yourself first:

Various interpretations of this:

  1. 1) An octopus biting something, and blood everywhere
  2. 2) A volcanic eruption
  3. 3) Something’s stuck in an octopus, which is bleeding

Maybe I sound too critical of myself. In general, I’m still pretty proud of this T-shirt, but it’s nowhere as good as I’d hoped it would be. I guess I have a new nightshirt now. The art looks too amateurish for me to wear it outside.

If I can manage to get pictures of the T-shirts the (my) art teacher drew on, I’ll post them here. He draws so awesomely I’d pay to buy those T-shirts.

Logging out now because it’s late (early in the morning) and I can’t think straight no more.

4 Responses to “Drawing on T-shirts, FTW.”

  1. Brittany August 15, 2011 at 1:26 am #

    Woah, hey now, I would totally wear that. I didn’t think it was an octopus at all, but some wicked abstract art thing.

    • AwesomeAim August 15, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

      Yup–I was trying to get something dreamy and abstract, but I didn’t realize that it would be THIS “abstract”. I like it, though. Makes the art more interesting…? And hey, thanks! 😀

  2. tenbrokenbullets August 15, 2011 at 6:23 am #

    If I could “like” Brittany’s comment I would. I would totally wear that.
    I didn’t realize they had t-shirt competitions though. That sounds fun.
    Anyways, to the public it may look like an octopus, but I think it looks like a fire on top of the hill, and the mask are the clouds. Haha.

    • AwesomeAim August 15, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

      Thank ya! This competition was something that my art teacher (outside of school) does yearly, and I think it’s awesome that you can put art to use in daily life! It really amuses me that nobody’s seen it as a girl with wings (and a triangular body)…yet. I also realized that if you looked at this upside-down, it could also look like an octopus trying to push something to the surface or whatever.

Leave a Reply

