Jeez, it’s not a crush

30 Aug

So how should I tackle this?

Let me just say, very clearly, that: when I appear to prefer male company–

IT IS NOT A “THING”. IT ISN’T EVEN BECAUSE THEY ARE MALE. NO, I DON’T HAVE A CRUSH.

Why do people always try and nudge me and make crude jokes when I’m friends with dudes? Admittedly, friendships have potential of turning into…other ships, but it’s hardly logical to suspect simply because the friendship exists. In my case, it’s doubly unlikely. Moirails (more HS reference) at best, but that doesn’t count in this human-world. Those of you who bombard me with eyebrow-waggling and shit, I hope you get the message.

Instead, it’s a personality thing. It’s not as if I don’t have any female friends. However, I find that I don’t really mix well with most of the girls in my grade (and beyond). It’s because I’m not as into goofing around all day and slathering makeup and trying to be “pretty” (something I will bitch about another day), and also because I’m pretty much the nerdiest/weirdest person in the class. I would rather discuss social issues, have debates, and analyze people/things than decide which nightclub is best. I want to make sarcastic comments in class and have someone near me appreciate them rather than tune out of everything. I want to discuss whatever topic in class without it being my monologue. And I want to carry a proper conversation where we can explore a topic/issue properly.

I doubt that I would actually turn around and say, “look, he’s just more interesting to me than you are, and he can carry a conversation in a way that you sort of can’t”, because that would make me appear “bitchy”. Even if I was being honest and telling the truth. (Dudes are also, in general, more open to constructive criticism.) This is another thing that I dislike about the majority of girls: they can’t take criticism without resenting it. Even if they agreed with it, they would view the utterer in a less favorable light than they used to. Jeez, if I were like that, then I’d be hating most of my friends.

My point here is that I can decide for myself which people I work best with. If it’s a girl, so be it. If it’s a guy, so be it. If it’s a transexual, so be it. If it’s an animal, so be it. Although possible, I would hardly make friends with someone and hang around them like a loser (wait, not that I hang around my friends like a loser in any way) just because I was infatuated. That would not go down well with my humongous ego.

I don’t want to tell you forthrightly that anyone else is much more interesting and fun to be with than you, and I expect for you to accept the truth that the said person may be of the opposite gender in return. I also expect you to realize that if said person acted in ways that I disliked, I wouldn’t be friends with them either. REGARDLESS OF GENDER.

What I admit is that I do prefer traits in people that more often appear in guys than in girls, but not always. I have met really cool chicks and really uncool dudes, too. So yes, this affects my choice in friends.

I hope this was clear enough. Jeez. I’m sort of ranting.

And if it makes you feel better, two dudes have already accidentally implied that I was a dude myself. I can’t really put my finger on why this feels relevant, because I still need to have dinner. 

6 Responses to “Jeez, it’s not a crush”

  1. Brittany August 30, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    One of of my best friends was a dude and people constantly thought it was dating. It pissed me off, but there was nothing I could do. People realized after a while we weren’t dating, or ever would.
    This whole thing just goes to show how heteronormative society is.

    • AwesomeAim August 30, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

      Yeah. After a while I figured that it was probably the easiest to clear things up with any dude in question rather than try to explain to everyone else. And it was much simpler after that because I didn’t need to care about the shit flying around anymore.

  2. TAM THE BEST September 1, 2011 at 7:37 am #

    Dude, that’s because you’re my sidekick and no woman can be awesomer than this one is. You’re just hanging out with dudes because I ruined you for lady moirails forever.

    • AwesomeAim September 2, 2011 at 12:48 am #

      Oh pfffft! Everyone knows that I am T3H AW3SOM3ST. Perhaps I should try for the ashen quadrant? I have no idea. Mehhh.

  3. Violet Johnson September 2, 2011 at 12:33 am #

    ……Bad memories floating up into the surface of consciousness.
    You’re lucky to stop caring about those stuff since my classmates are still harassing me with those ‘crush’ and ‘boyfriend’ stuff.

    • AwesomeAim September 2, 2011 at 12:49 am #

      Yeah, I’m wondering when (or actually, IF) they’ll grow up already. And I’m like the youngest, so go figure. :/

Leave a Reply

