In preparation for a role reverse

17 Sep

I couldn’t think of a better title, but basically what I mean is that I’m going to teach at a migrant school. This afternoon. Every Saturday afternoon. I made the lesson plan yesterday and I’m sort of feeling really weirded out by the mental image of myself teaching little Grade 5 kids.

But it’s not going to be the first time. Back when, what, 3 years ago? In the summer, I’d taught little kids as well. They were only Grade 3 or something, I don’t remember. What I do remember is that being a teacher is sort of tough. And that it could be very embarrassing, too, if you didn’t know what to do or if you blanked out or if the kids were chaotic or if you ran out of material or–

Lots of things could go wrong.

But I digress. This was supposed to be my pep talk for myself. Yes, you can do it. Uh.

In case the above felt as devoid of information to you as it is doing to me, here are the gory details:

  • Every Saturday afternoon
  • 2 periods, 40 mins each, 10 min break in between
  • 1 teacher and 1 assistant (students from our class/school)
  • Kids are in 5th grade
  • Must teach them English

Yup. Okay. I have a feeling that my lesson plan isn’t going to be good enough, and that we’re going to eventually end up having to fill the time, so I’ll need to get myself ready for lots of emergency bullshitting. With my friend helping me, we should be fine. We both have teaching experience. And with luck we’ll intimidate the kids enough so that they won’t be noisy or whatever.

I’ll probably post about the end result. But first, let me go and calm my nerves. :/

Oh, and this is also part of the IB CAS hours.

2 Responses to “In preparation for a role reverse”

  1. Violet September 17, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    I attended the English Teaching Club at school too.
    We’re teaching kids English every Saturday somewhere in PuXi……The leader of the club didn’t tell us yet.
    This counts towards the CAS hours too 😉

    • AwesomeAim September 17, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

      Oh heyhey! Ours is with Stepping Stones, at a migrant school near NanPu Bridge. :]

Leave a Reply

