Maybe I do appreciate poetry after all

16 Oct

Up until very recently, I have not been introduced to Sylvia Plath’s poems. Even now, I have only read one, “Persephone’s Two Sisters”. That, and her biography. I knew that she had been depressed and all that, but…wow.

I guess I can’t say that I dislike poetry any more. I’d been under the impression that poetry was melodramatic, overly purple and just all pretentious-like, but I’m beginning to see the, uh, beauty of it now. Maybe it’s just that the poetry that I’d read before didn’t quite match up with my life or something. Or maybe it’s just because Sylvia Plath is dark and depressing and I dig stuff like that.

If I could be sure that I did, I’d say that I probably understand (to some extent) the depression.

But no, I don’t really think it makes a good comparison at all. Mine was probably a slice of cake compared to hers and I’m not even sure if it had really been depression, although it most likely was.

Still means that I can relate, though. 

Oh gog Sylvia Plath, why so heartbreaking. </3

4 Responses to “Maybe I do appreciate poetry after all”

  1. Brittany October 17, 2011 at 5:06 am #

    http://www.angelfire.com/punk2/themosquito/index49.elm.html

    Love this one

    • Brittany October 17, 2011 at 5:07 am #

      You can read Plath’s original manuscripts in the Rare Book Room at Smith College. She’s an alum

      • AwesomeAim October 19, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

        Yes I read that she’s from Smith too…lucky you. You could just literally go anywhere on the campus and wonder if all those years ago, she (or anyone else) had once stood in the same exact spot. 😀

      • AwesomeAim March 28, 2012 at 12:26 am #

        I remember asking this before…but it appears that your blog is deleted? 😕 D:

Leave a Reply

