The simplest things.

1 Nov

Sometimes the simplest things can bring you up or get you down. 

I just went out around 10:30 p.m. to sit on the kiddy-slide that is right across my block. It’s part of this tiny toddlers’ playground; the plastic kind that’s just about as tall as an average person. It has a relatively long slide, wide enough for a person to lie in it. That’s what I did. Just sat at the bottom and lay back into it, getting a nice view of the floating clouds and an airplane that got me thinking it was a particularly bright star (the actual stars don’t appear here. It’s too polluted). The slide is too narrow for arms to fit in, so I just put my hood up and rested my arms on my face. And took a nap. I swear, that slide could beat my bed in a comfy-off if I turn to the side and shield my exposed face with my arm. Snugness FTW. The only bad thing I guess is that it’s right beside a oft-visited gate.

What I love about it the most is the fresh air, though. Being outside feels more natural (if slightly chilly). I would attract odd looks if I lay outside during the day, but seeing as it’s night-time and everyone’s pretty much leaving this place alone anyway…yeah. This is my second night in a row coming here to lie down for no good reason. I think it’s becoming my favorite spot in my compound (which is tiny). One day, if I ever have the guts to, I will stay outside all night with a warm jacket. 

Thanks owed to a friend who discovered this particular use of this slide one day when they were waiting for me to come outside, I guess. I hate to admit it like this (bluh huge ego), but this is just awesome. ❤

2 Responses to “The simplest things.”

  1. tenbrokenbullets November 9, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    That sounds amazing. It’s like camping out with your childhood. That is, if one did come to the playground while they were a kid, but nonetheless the way you put it sounds freaking amazing.

    • AwesomeAim November 10, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

      I never actually went to playgrounds all that much as a kid because I was too chicken to go play with the other kids xD, but yeah I love this place! I sat there just the other day and read an entire book. It took me 2 hours and I was freezing and reading by phone-light by the end. :/ Haha!

Leave a Reply

