Fate: yes or no?

27 Mar

Here’s an excuse before I even begin my post: it’s midnight and I’m not thinking as clearly as I should be.

This is what I was discussing with my friends a couple of days ago–should you believe in fate? My friend said yes and I said no. She believes that a person’s fate is chosen for them and that they have a certain destination, be it within this lifetime or otherwise. Therefore, whatever you do has already been predestined, as are all your successes and failures. For her, this is a supply of inner strength and it also lays the foundation for her conviction that there is someone out there, perhaps a God, that is looking after her and making sure that she stays on her right path. 

For me, I found this whole thing suspicious. I needed a definition of “destination”. Is it death (in which case everyone’s fate would be the same!), a certain status (achievable in this lifetime…but what after that?), or a state of mind? More importantly, does the fate change according to your actions and life choices? My argument was that if a person’s fate were decided already from birth, then wouldn’t any hard work or effort be a waste? If one was fated to be successful, then they ought to be successful no matter what (according to her description of fate, which is something that is predetermined about a person’s existence and unchangeable). Adversely, if (s)he was fated to fail, then (s)he would fail no matter what. So I asked her, what then? Should we just lean back in our chairs and say “fuck this, let’s see how my fate is”? 

We reached no conclusion. The only one we managed to draw was this: we were thinking about the issue from quite opposite viewpoints. She saw/sees it as a guiding star and as a source of inner strength, while I saw/see it as a force to be reckoned with and fought against. Therefore, with this belief, she would make her choices and go on with life trusting that everything will turn out well in the end, while I would make the most irrational choices available to me in efforts to disprove or challenge my “fate”. 

This implies that personality affects how people react to religion and faith. She was not raised to be religious (just as I wasn’t) but in recent years did become so. I know myself well enough to say that I almost always fight power and control when they are used to constrain or oppress my freedom, and especially if said power is non-negotiable. Perhaps this is why I am an atheist, and why I would consider throwing myself out of a window right now just to fuck with fate (did I believe that fate controlled me).

But if fate really existed in this form, wouldn’t my thoughts about fate itself and my seemingly irrational actions suddenly become predictable and even perhaps rational? 

That question always drives me round in circles and I never get to an answer. 

So what do you guys think? Agree or disagree? Comments? 

4 Responses to “Fate: yes or no?”

  1. Kay March 27, 2012 at 4:43 am #

    I tend to be pretty skeptical about the idea of fate or pre-destination… if only because, like you said, that would make hard work worthless and I cannot let myself believe that I am writing all of these term papers for nothing!

    • AwesomeAim March 27, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

      Yes–that’s exactly what I thought! If it were predestined as a final result, then why shouldn’t I sit back and relax? Although it just struck me that this only applies if the fate decides the outcome and the outcome only, because if otherwise then we would only achieve success via fate BECAUSE WE WERE FATED TO WORK HARD. :/ Am I making sense…oh well!

  2. ArtTropes March 31, 2012 at 12:06 pm #

    I don’t believe in fate. I believe that everyone is born with potential, and it’s up to themselves to decide if they want to cultivate them or slack and lose the opportunity.

Leave a Reply

