Untitled.

2 May

My first reaction to the room is that of claustrophobia. There are thirty–no, forty heads, some staring, others talking. There are few empty seats, and they are guarded by hostile stares and discouraging expressions. The room is filled with people my age, but here I am not ‘one of them’. Here they are the in-fitters of this group, and I am an intruder. I put my things down on the nearest vacant desk and ignore the stony look that I know is directed at me.

This is how the morning passes. The voice of the teacher is but a dull drone at the back of my head as I scribble and doodle on my notebook. I correct the mistakes on my paper as they are explained. The person sitting next to me plays a game on her phone.

Voices. Shrill voices, high-pitched voices, pretentious voices. The girl sitting behind me is telling her (presumed) boyfriend how smart he is for getting a question correct. She groans about how she is going to fail this test. She giggles when he tells her that he’s writing a book. I don’t have to look to know that she’s going to have long hair, a tight-fitting T-shirt, mini shorts. When she leaves the room during break, my speculations are confirmed.

I catch snippets of high-pitched, valley girl accented conversation. The room reeks of false friendliness, and I know that I am being horribly judgmental. I know none of these people well enough to come to any sort of conclusion.

Cat’s Eye. My book is my shield. It obliterates any need for me to converse or socialize.

Two hours pass. The heaviness on my chest abates. I cram my things into my bag, shoulder past the others.

I walk out of the building feeling like a freed prisoner.

Large groups are not for me.

7 Responses to “Untitled.”

  1. V. May 2, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

    Is this something that really happened?

  2. ArtTropes May 15, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

    Where was this? My first presumption was the exam room but then that thought came to be incredibly silly!

    Now my guess is that place you had to go on Monday!

    • AwesomeAim June 3, 2012 at 12:27 am #

      Yup, that group that SAT class thing.

      • ArtTropes June 3, 2012 at 1:33 am #

        What in the world was it for, anyways?

    • AwesomeAim June 3, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

      …SAT?

      • ArtTropes June 3, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

        The way you described the room didn’t sound like it, haha.

Leave a Reply

